Lou Reed

Full Discography

  • Berlin: Live at St. Ann’s Warehouse - ole-849 - 2008-10-21


Upcoming Release 
Berlin: Live at St. Ann’s Warehouse
ole-849 CD/2xLP/DA
Street Date: October 21, 2008 


Lou Reed recorded the album Berlin in 1973.

It was a commercial failure.

“For five nights in December 2006 at St. Ann's Warehouse Brooklyn, Lou Reed performed his master work about love's dark sisters; jealousy, rage and loss.” - Julian Schnabel

On the 1973 release of Berlin, Rolling Stone's Stephen Davis described the album as akin to "taking the listener into a distorted and degenerate demi-monde of paranoia, schizophrenia, degradation, pill-induced violence and suicide." Though that was undoubtedly meant to be a pan, depending on your sensibility, it might also be a fabulous pull-quote.

Berlin, a film by acclaimed painter-turned-director Julian Schnabel (Basquiat, When Night Falls, The Diving Bell & The Butterfly) documents Lou Reed's historic 2006 performances of this controversial 1973 followup to Transformer, joined by Fernando Saunders, Antony, Steve Hunter, Rob Wassermann, Rupert Christie, Sharon Jones, a seven piece orches- tra (including Eyvind Kang and Jane Scarpantoni) along with the Brooklyn Youth Chorus.

While Schnabel's effort is far more ambitious than your average concert film, this DLP/CD more than stands on its own as a deft re-imagining of one of the 20th century's most powerful works. Produced by Bob Ezrin and Hal Wilner.

News From The Matablog

Lou Reed, 1942-2013

As you've probably read elsewhere, Lou Reed passed away earlier today. It's almost impossible to quantify the impact Lou's music and lyrics have made on this-thing-we're-involved-in ;  arguably, he did more to help shape the sensibilities of this label's roster (and many others' of course) than any other single figure.  Minds blown (repeatedly), lives changed, etc., imagining music (or New York City) without Lou Reed is something we never wanted to contemplate.   Our thoughts are with his family, friends, collaborators and everyone else listening to his records this afternoon.

Antony on Lou Reed's "Berlin: Live at St. Ann's Warehouse"

In late 2006, Lou Reed invited a group of musicians and friends to help resurrect his controversial, classic album "Berlin" on a Brooklyn stage.

Among those musicians (and friends) was Antony Hegarty, the angel-voiced singer-songwriter. Below, Antony talks about his experience helping Lou bring the album to the stage, the origins of the pair's friendship and musical bond and his love for the music of "Berlin".

Purchase "Berlin: Live at St. Ann's Warehouse" on CD, deluxe gatefold double-vinyl or digital download.

Times New Viking (heart) the Velvets

This past Saturday at the Wexner Center for the Arts, on the campus of THE Ohio State University in Columbus, OH, Times New Viking offered a Valentine to rock and roll and modern art, closing out the museum's six-month-running Andy Warhol: Other Voices, Other Rooms exhibition with a set of cover songs by the incomparable Velvet Underground.

Joined by Ohio rock legend Mike "Rep" Hummel (guitar/voice) and noise/avant man-about-many-towns C. Spencer Yeh (violin), TNV led an enthusiatic crowd through early Velvets classics including "All Tomorrow's Parties", "Sunday Morning", "Venus in Furs" and a show-stopping "Heroin", with Rep on lead vocals. Set-list courtesy of Beth TNV:

The show actually concluded with an acoustic "After Hours" singalong, featuring members of opener Psychedelic Horseshit as well as  a vocal contribution from the one and only Ron House. 

On a Valentine's Day in Central Ohio, Times New Viking channeled the deposed spirit of rock and roll's greatest band, and moved the crowd, melding their own distinctive blast-first-second-and-third rock mentality to classic jams never far from anyone's heart.

Lou Reed & Hal Wilner : "Berlin" Screening, Q&A Tonight

Julian Schnabel's ambitious film version of the 2006 Brooklyn performances of Lou Reed's "Berlin" --- the genesis for Matador's double LP/CD release of 'Berlin - Live At St. Ann's Warehouse' --- will be shown tonight (Friday, December 5) at the 92nd Street YMCA's Hudson Street Screening Room as part of their 18 Nights Of Inspiration Series.  Following the film, Lou Reed and producer Hal Wilner will field questions from the audience.

In addition, Lou can be seen being interviewed and performing alongside Elvis Costello on the latter's new Sundance Channel chat program, "Spectacle".   The episode in question premies Wednesday, December 10 at 9pm eastern.

Intended Play sampler Fall 2008: ready to download and burn

Our spring Intended Play label download sampler was a huge hit, so we're doing it again. Just like before, you get a track from one of each of our current and upcoming releases. Seven of the tracks have not been released on MP3 yet, and four of those are from albums that haven't been released yet. The sampler this time is a bit more varied musically, from A.C. Newman's jewel-like pop songscapes to the majestic neo-punk of Fucked Up to the gorgeous female vocals of Jennifer O'Connor to a track from Lou Reed's painstaking, thoughtful, first-ever performance of his controversial classic album 'Berlin.' We also introduce an unreleased song from Pavement's 'Brighten The Corner' sessions, due out on the deluxe edition of that album in November. 

Click on the link to get a zipped file of all 13 tracks plus front and back artwork, and burn it yourself (or just listen to it digitally). And support the bands and the label... if you like the track, click on the album title link below to buy (or preorder) the album (or more individual tracks) directly from us.

Intended Play Fall 2008 (zip file)

Track listing:

1. A.C. Newman There Are Maybe Ten Or Twelve (from Get Guilty, due out January 20)
2. Belle and Sebastian The State I Am In (BBC Version) (from The BBC Sessions, due out November 18)
3. Jennifer O'Connor Here With Me (from Here With Me, released August 19)
4. Shearwater The Snow Leopard (Remastered)  from Rook, released June 3)
5. Lou Reed Caroline Says, Pt. II (Live) (from Berlin: Live At St. Ann's Warehouse, due out November 4)
6. Mogwai The Sun Smells Too Loud (from The Hawk Is Howling, released September 23)
7. Fucked Up No Epiphany (from The Chemistry Of Common Life, released October 7)
8. Jay Reatard An Ugly Death (from Matador Singles '08, released October 7)
9. Jaguar Love Humans Evolve Into Skyscrapers (from Take Me To The Sea, released August 19)
10. Pavement Cataracts (from Brighten The Corners: Nicene Creedence Ed., due out December 9)
11. Brightblack Morning Light Oppressions Each (from Motion To Rejoin, released September 23)
12. Times New Viking Call & Respond (from the Stay Awake EP, released October 14)
13. Condo Fucks What'cha Gonna Do About It? (from Fuckbook, due out March 2009)

Music & Video