Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

VIDEO: Belle and Sebastian - "Poor Boy" + "The Belle and Sebastian Mixtape Maker"



Belle and Sebastian have released a video for "Poor Boy," a track from EP3 of How To Solve Our Human Problems. The video, which features Stuart and company on a normal evening off, is directed by Oscar Sansom & Ciaran Lyons of The Forest of Black.



In conjunction with the release of the new video, the group has also announced "The Belle and Sebastian Mixtape Maker," which allows you to create a sharable Spotify playlist and customized image that replicates the How To Solve Our Human Problems cover.

Belle and Sebastian are currently on tour with Julien Baker in the United Kingdom. They'll be touring North America this June, with support from Snail Mail, Perfume Genius and others.

Upcoming Tour Dates
Thu – 22-Mar – UK, Gateshead Sage *
Fri – 23-Mar – Scotland, Perth, Concert Hall *
Sat – 24-Mar – Scotland, Edinburgh, Usher Hall *
Mon – 26-Mar – Ireland, Dublin, Vicar St *
Tue – 27-Mar – Ireland, Dublin, Vicar St *
Wed-02-May - Australia, Perth - Astor Theatre
Fri-04-May - Australia, St Kilda - Palais Theatre
Sat-05-May - Australia, Sydney - Sydney Opera House
Mon-07-May - Australia, Brisbane Qld - Tivoli
Fri-25-May - UK, Glasgow - Galvanizers Yard
Tue-Jun-05 - Portland, ME - State Theatre**
Wed-Jun-06 - New Haven, CT - College Street Music Hall**
Fri-Jun-08 - Queens, NY - Forest Hills Stadium***
Sat-Jun-09 - Washington, DC - The Anthem^
Sun-Jun-10 - Atlanta, GA - Tabernacle^+
Mon-Jun-11 - New Orleans, LA - Civic Theatre^
Sat-Jun-16 - Austin, TX - ACL Live at the Moody Theater^
Sun-Jun-17 - Dallas, TX - The Bomb Factory^
Tue-Jun-19 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theater+
Wed-Jun-20 - Sundance, UT - Sundance Amphitheater+
Fri-Jun-22 - San Diego, CA - The Observatory North Park+
Mon-Jun-25 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theater+
Thu-Jun-28 - Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theatre+
Fri-Jun-29 - Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theatre+
Sat-Jun-30 - Portland, OR - Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre+

(* - with Julien Baker)
(** - with Snail Mail)
(*** - with Perfume Genius and Frankie Cosmos)
(^ - with Men I Trust)
(+ with Japanese Breakfast)

Belle and Sebastian online:
Official site
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

New Iceage track 'Take It All' + September UK / EU dates



Photo - Steve Gullick

Today Iceage have birthed us a new track from their forthcoming long player 'Beyondless' - out May 4th. The new track 'Take It All' presents the group at their sidewinding best ripping a pleading and sincere groove out of a skeletal easy march beat.

Buy / stream here

Preorder 'Beyondless'



[embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Auufutrb-w&feature=youtu.be[/embed]

There's also news of more tour dates to add to the already extensive mid year run, seeing the band return to Europe for more gigs in September following on from their month and a half long Stateside soujourn through May and June.

One further reminder - the band's 'Opening Nights' residency shows kick off TONIGHT in Brooklyn, NY

Thursday, March 22nd - Kinfolk, Brooklyn NY
Friday, March 23rd - Kinfolk, Brooklyn NY
Saturday, March 24th - Babycastles, Brooklyn NY
Sunday, March 25th - Secret Project Robot, Brooklyn NY
Thursday, March 29th - Golddiggers, Los Angeles CA
Friday, March 30th - Golddiggers, Los Angeles CA
Saturday, March 31st - Golddiggers, Los Angeles CA
Tuesday, April 3rd - Metro, Kyoto JP
Friday, April 6th - Duo, Tokyo JP
Sunday, April 8th - Vacant, Tokyo JP
Saturday, May 5 - Bitterzoet, Amsterdam NE
Sunday, May 6 - Le Botanique, Bruxelles BE
Monday, May 7 - Petit Bain, Paris FR
Tuesday, May 8 - Scala, London UK
Thursday, May 10 - Nordic Museum, Seattle WA
Wednesday, May 16 - Bowery Ballroom, New York NY
Thursday, May 17 - First Unitarian Church, Philadelphia PA
Friday, May 18 - Union Stage, Washington DC
Saturday, May 19 - The Camel, Richmond VA
Sunday, May 20 - Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro NC
Monday, May 21 - Mercy Lounge, Nashville TN
Tuesday, May 22 - The Earl, Atlanta GA
Wednesday, May 23 - Saturn, Birmingham AL
Thursday, May 24 - Santos, New Orleans LA
Friday, May 25 - Rockefeller’s, Houston TX
Saturday, May 26 - Club Dada, Dallas TX
Sunday, May 27 - Barracuda, Austin TX
Tuesday, June 5 - The Casbah, San Diego CA *
Wednesday, June 6 - The Regent Theater, Los Angeles CA *
Thursday, June 7 - Don Quixote’s International Music Hall, Felton CA *
Friday, June 8 - Great American Music Hall, San Francisco CA *
Saturday, June 9 - Huichica Music Festival, Sonoma CA
Monday, June 11 - Mississippi Studios, Portland OR *
Tuesday, June 12 - The Astoria, Vancouver BC*
Thursday, June 14 - The Bartlett, Spokane WA *
Friday, June 15 - The Rialto, Bozeman MT *
Saturday, June 16 - Kilby Court, Salt Lake City UT *
Sunday, June 17 - Bluebird Theater, Denver CO *
Monday, June 18 - Waiting Room, Omaha NE *
Tuesday, June 19 - 7th St Entry, Minneapolis MN *
Wednesday, June 20 - Cactus Club, Milwaukee WI *
Friday, June 22 - El Club, Detroit MI *
Saturday, June 23 - Lee’s Palace, Toronto ON *
Sunday, June 24 - The 27 Club, Ottawa ON *
Monday, June 25 - La Sala Rossa, Montreal QC *
Tuesday, June 26 - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth NH *
Wednesday, June 27 - The Sinclair, Boston MA *
Thursday, June 28 - Market Hotel, Brooklyn NY *
Thursday, July 12 - Bankito Festival, Lake Bank HU
Thursday August 30 - Sounddrive Festival, Gdansk PL
Friday August 31 - Off The Radar Festival, Hamburg DE
Monday September 3 - Hare And Hounds, Birmingham UK
Tuesday September 4 - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK
Thursday September 6 - The Great Eastern, Glasgow UK
Friday September 7 - Workmans Club, Dublin IE
Saturday September 8 - Clwb iFor Bach, Cardiff UK
Sunday September 9 - Gorilla, Manchester UK
Monday September 10 - The Haunt, Brighton UK
Tuesday September 11 - Rotown, Rotterdam NL
Wednesday September 12 - Blue Shell, Cologne DE
Thursday September 13 - Karlstorbahnhof, Heidelberg DE
Friday September 14 - Leffingeleuren Festival, Leffinge BE
Saturday September 15 - Bi Nuu, Berlin DE
Friday September 21 - Studenterhuset, Ålborg DK
Monday September 24 - Tavastia, Helsinki FI
Tuesday September 25 - John Dee, Oslo NO
Wednesday September 26 - Debaser, Stockholm SE
Thursday September 27 - Pustervik, Göteborg SE
Friday September 28 - Kansas City, Odense DK
Friday October 26 - Hard Club, Porto PT
Saturday October 27 - Jameson Urban Routes Festival, Lisbon PT
Sunday October 28 - Sala X, Sevilla ES
Monday October 29 - El Sol, Madrid ES
Tuesday October 30 - Le [2], Barcelona ES
Friday November 3 - Rote Fabrik, Zurich CH

* = with Mary Lattimore

Iceage online

Official Site
Facebook
Instagram

Coming June 8 : Snail Mail - 'Lush'


(photo by Michael Lavine)



(video by Marisa Gesualdi)

On June 8, we're releasing 'Lush', the eagerly awaited debut album from Baltimore, MD's SNAIL MAIL, aka Lindsey Jordan, whose 2016 'Habit' EP for Sister Polygon lit up the universe (ours, anyway). Produced by Jake Aron and recorded last year, 'Lush' is a dramatic, ultra-confident leap forward from a songwriter & guitarist that couldn't possibly be more-in-the-moment. The video for single #1, "Pristine" can be found above. Preorders for the LP & CD versions of 'Lush' (with or without a t-shirt bundle) start today.

Lindsey Jordan is on the brink of something huge, and she’s only just graduated high school. Her voice rises and falls with electricity throughout 'Lush', her debut album as Snail Mail, spinning with bold excitement and new beginnings at every turn.

“Is there any better feeling than coming clean?” sings the eighteen-year-old guitarist and songwriter halfway through the sprawling anthem that is “Pristine,” the album’s first single. You can’t help but agree with her. It’s a hook that immediately sticks in your head—and a question she seems to be grappling with throughout the record’s 10-songs of crystalline guitar pop.

Throughout 'Lush', Jordan’s clear and powerful voice, acute sense of pacing, and razor-sharp writing cut through the chaos and messiness of growing up: the passing trends, the awkward house parties, the sick-to-your-stomach crushes and the heart wrenching breakups. Jordan’s most masterful skill is in crafting tension, working with muted melodrama that builds and never quite breaks, stretching out over moody rockers and soft-burning hooks, making for visceral slow-releases that stick under the skin. - Liz Pelly





stream/download "Pristene"
preorder 'Lush'





Tour Dates, (New Dates in Bold) :

Wednesday, March 21 Ottobar, Baltimore MD ! (SOLD OUT)
Wednesday, April 4 40 Watt Club, Athens GA #
Thursday, April 5 Saturn, Birmingham AL #
Friday, April 6 Will’s Pub, Orlando FL # (SOLD OUT)
Saturday, April 7 The Crowbar, Tampa FL # (SOLD OUT)
Tuesday, April 10 Scoot Inn, Austin TX  #
Wednesday, April 11 Paper Tiger, San Antonio TX
Sunday, April 15 Coachella Music Festival Week 1, Indio CA
Tuesday, April 17 The Roxy, Los Angeles CA # (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, April 22 Coachella Music Festival Week 2, Indio CA
Tuesday, April 24 Meow Wolf, Santa Fe NM
Friday, April 27 Sticky’z Rock’n’Roll Chicken Shack, Little Rock AR #
Saturday, April 28 Exit / In, Nashville TN #
Tuesday, May 15th - Oslo - London, UK
Saturday, May 19th - Gold Sounds 2018 - Leeds, UK
Sunday, May 20th - Gullivers - Manchester, UK
Monday, May 21st - Louisiana - Bristol, UK
Wednesday, May 23rd - Witloof Bar - Brussels, BE
Thursday, May 24th - Vera - Groningen, NL
Saturday, May 26th - London Calling - Amsterdam, NL
Tuesday, May 15 Oslo Hackney, London UK
Tuesday, June 5 State Theater, Portland ME *
Wednesday, June 6 College Street Music Hall, New Haven CT *
Thursday, June 7 Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn NY
Saturday, June 9 Asbury Park Brewing, Asbury Park NJ
Tuesday, June 12 Black Cat, Washington D.C.
Wednesday, June 13 Cattivo, Pittsburgh PA
Thursday, June 14 Velvet Underground, Toronto ON
Friday, June 15 Deluxx Fluxx, Detroit MI
Saturday, June 16 Subterranean, Chicago IL
Sunday, June 17 7th St. Entry, Minneapolis MN
Monday, June 18 Vaudeville Mews, Des Moines IA
Wednesday, June 20 Larimer Lounge, Denver CO
Friday, June 22 Funky Taco, Boise ID
Saturday, June 23 The Crocodile, Seattle WA
Sunday, June 24 Biltmore Cabaret, Vancouver BC
Monday, June 25 Holocene, Portland OR
Wednesday, June 27 Starline Social Club, Oakland CA
Thursday, June 28 Swedish American Hall, San Francisco CA
Friday, June 29 The Cellar Door, Visalia CA
Saturday, June 30 Bootleg Theater, Los Angeles CA
Tuesday, July 3 Pub Rock Live, Scottsdale AZ
Friday, July 6 Three Links, Dallas TX
Saturday, July 7 George’s Majestic Lounge, Fayetteville AR
Monday, July 9 Drunken Unicorn, Atlanta GA
Tuesday, July 10 The Pinhook, Durham NC
Wednesday, July 11 Strange Matter, Richmond VA
Thursday, July 12 Parkway Theatre, Baltimore MD
Saturday, July 14 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Sunday, July 15 The Sinclair, Cambridge MA
Monday, July 16 L’Escogriffe Bar Spectacle, Montreal QC
Tuesday, July 17 ArtsRiot, Burlington VT
Tuesday, July 24 Ace of Cups, Columbus OH
Wednesday, July 25 Zanzabar, Louisville KY
Thursday, July 26 The Bishop, Bloomington IN
Friday, July 27 The Pyramid Scheme, Grand Rapids MI
Sunday, July 29 Beachland Tavern, Cleveland OH

! w/ Shame
# w/ Japanese Breakfast
* w/ Belle & Sebastian
Snail Mail online:

Kurt Vile & The Violators - Summer 2018 Tour Dates



(Kurt Vile at SXSW last week, photo by Rennie Jaffe)

After performing across Austin TX last week, at Willie Nelson’s ranch in Spicewood, and at a few SXSW showcases, Kurt Vile has announced his first American shows with the Violators in over a year. The full Violators line-up, which includes Vile, Rob Laakso, Kyle Spence and Jesse Trbovich, will hit the road in June and July. Tickets are on sale this Friday March 23rd at 10am ET.

In case you missed it, watch the new documentary “Friends of Wonder,” which features Kurt Vile & Courtney Barnett at The Landmark Lowe’s Jersey City Theater during their Fall ’17 Lotta Sea Lice tour.

Kurt Vile & The Violators Spring and Summer 2018, new dates in bold
Wednesday, June 13 Metropolitan Theatre, Morgantown WV +
Thursday, June 14 Tellus 36, Lancaster PA +
Friday, June 15 College Street Music Hall, New Haven CT +
Saturday, June 16 White Eagle Hall, Jersey City NJ +
Sunday, June 17 Mountain Jam Festival, Hunter NY
Tuesday, July 10 Jefferson Theatre, Charlottesville VA =
Wednesday, July 11 Cat’s Cradle, Carrsboro NC =
Thursday, July 12 Orange Peel, Asheville NC =
Friday, July 13 Forecastle Festival, Louisville KY
Saturday, July 14 Signal, Chattanooga TN =
Sunday, July 15 Mill & Mine, Knoxville TN =
Tuesday, July 17 The Underground, Charlotte NC =

* w/ John Prine
+ w/ Connections
= w/ Dylan Carlson

Kurt Vile Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

VIDEO : Queens of the Stone Age - "Head Like A Haunted House"



"Head Like A Haunted House" is the latest video from Queens of the Stone Age's colossal 'Villains', directed by auteur beyond compare Liam Lynch. QOTSA's updated global schedule can be found below, and beware that tickets are running low in several places (and you simply cannot xerox your own).



(photo : Andreas Neumann)

stream/order 'Villains'

QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE ON TOUR
Monday, Marcy 18, 2018 - Viva Latino, Mexico City, Mexico
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - The Observatory, San Diego CA (SOLD OUT)
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - The Observatory, San Diego CA (SOLD OUT)
Friday, March 23, 2018 - Innings Festival, Tempe AZ
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - In Bloom Festival, Houston, TX
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - The Republik, Honolulu HI (SOLD OUT)
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - Austin360 Amphitheater, Austin TX #&
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - The Pavilion, Irving TX #
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - Municipal Auditorium, Shreveport LA #
Friday, April 27, 2018 - Saenger Theatre, New Orleans LA # (SOLD OUT)
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - Bayfront Park Ampitheater, Miami FL #
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - Mahaffey Theater, St. Petersburg FL # (SOLD OUT)
Friday, May 4, 2018 - Beale Street Music Festival, Memphis TN
Saturday, May 5, 2018 - Shaky Knees Festival, Atlanta GA
Sunday, May 6, 2018 - Carolina Rebellion, Concord NC
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - Scotiabank Saddlebank, Calgary AB *
Friday, May 18, 2018 - Rogers Place, Edmonton AB *
Sunday, May 20, 2018 - MTS Centre, Winnipeg MB *
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - Breese Stevens Field, Madison WI *
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - Budweiser Gardens, London ON *
Friday, May 25, 2018 - Rochester Dome Arena, Rochester NY *
Saturday, May 26, 2018 - Boston Calling, Cambridge MA
Friday, June 8, 2018 - Northside Festival, Arhaus Denmark
Saturday, June 9, 2018 - Lisenberg, Gothenburg SE
Sunday, June 10, 2018 - Gröna Lund, Stockholm SE
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - Bergenfest, Bergen, Norway
Friday, June 15, 2018 - Rockhal Luxembourg
Saturday, June 16, 2018 - Open Air Im Kulturpark, Wiesbaden, Germany
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - Torwar Arena, Warsaw, Poland
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - Forum Karlin, Prague, Czech Republic
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - Budapest Park Open Air, Budapest, Hungary
Saturday, June 23, 2018 - Lucca Summer Festival, Lucca, Italy
Sunday, June 24, 2018 - I-Days Festival, Monza, Italy
Monday, June 25, 2018 - Inmusic Festival, Zagreb, Croatia
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - Elbufer, Dresden, Germany
Friday, June 29, 2018 - Down The Rabbit Hole, Beuningen NL
Saturday, June 30, 2018 - Finsbury Park, London UK
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - Rock Werchter, Werchter, Belgium
Friday, July 6, 2018 - Main Square Festival, Arras, France
Saturday, July 7, 2018 - Eurorockeennes Festival, Belfort, France
Friday, July 13, 2018 - Nos Alive, Lisbon, Portugal
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - Mad Cool, Madrid, Spain
Saturday, August 18, 2018 - Summer Sonic, Tokyo, Japan

# w/ Wolf Alice
* w/ Royal Blood

QOTSA ONLINE
WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM

Yo La Tengo's 'There's a Riot Going On' Is Available Today



Yo La Tengo's woozily captivatating new studio album 'There's a Riot Going On' is released worldwide today. This new record has been hailed by many as the band performing at their best - moving between sonic pastures equally familiar and unfamiliar to anyone who has kept up with them over their dazzling career

Buy it / Stream it

The band have been keeping busy - just last night announcing Japanese dates for October:



Monday, October 8th - Umeda Club Quattro - Osaka, Japan
Tuesday, October 9th - Club Quattro - Nagoya, Japan
Wednesday, October 10th - Tsutaya O-East - Tokyo, Japan

Yo La Tengo online:

Official Site
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook

Sign up for Matador updates