Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

VIDEO: Julien Baker - Tiny Desk Concert + New U.S. Tour Dates



Julien Baker first performed at NPR's Tiny Desk Concert in early 2016, several months after the release of her debut album Sprained Ankle. Today she becomes one of the few artists to perform at Tiny Desk for a second time. Joined by her touring violinist Camille Faulkner, Baker performed three tracks from her sophomore LP Turn Out The Lights, "Appointments," "Hurt Less," and "Even." This session comes on the heels of Julien's late night debut, performing "Turn Out The Lights" on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.



Baker has also announced her first U.S. tour dates of 2018 today, through the Midwest and Northeast this spring after traveling to Europe in March with Belle & Sebastian. Tickets for the new dates are on sale this Friday, January 12th at 10am EST.

TOUR DATES (New dates in bold)

Friday, January 26 WWW Tokyo JP
Sunday, January 28 Conpass Osaka JP
Tuesday, March 6 Truro Hall Cornwall UK %
Thursday, March 8 Millenium Centre Cardiff UK %
Friday, March 9 Aberystwyth Arts Centre Aberystwyth UK %
Saturday, March 10 Nottingham Rock City Nottingham UK %
Monday, March 12 Manchester Bridgewater Hall Manchester UK %
Tuesday, March 13 Cambridge Corn Exchange Cambridge UK %
Thursday, March 15 Brighton Dome Brighton UK %
Friday, March 16 London Troxy London UK %
Saturday, March 17 London Troxy London UK %
Monday, March 19 Liverpool Philharmonic Liverpool UK %
Tuesday, March 20 York Opera House York UK %
Thursday, March 22 Gateshead Sage Gateshead UK %
Friday, March 23 Concert Hall Perth UK %
Saturday, March 24 Usher Hall Edinburgh UK %
Monday, March 26 Vicar St Dublin IE %
Tuesday, March 27 Vicar St Dublin IE %
Thursday, April 5 The Blue Note Columbia MO #
Friday, April 6 Granada Theater Lawrence KS #
Saturday, April 7 Mission Creek Festival Iowa City IA
Monday, April 9 Turner Hall Ballroom Milwaukee WI #
Tuesday, April 10 El Club Detroit MI #
Wednesday, April 11 Covenant Fine Arts Center Grand Rapids MI #
Friday, April 13 Hangar Theater Ithaca NY #
Saturday, April 14 ArtsRiot Burlington VT #
Sunday, April 15 Columbus Theatre Providence RI #
Monday, April 16 Academy Of Music Theater Northampton MA #
Tuesday, April 17 White Eagle Hall Jersey City NJ #
Thursday, April 19 Chameleon Club Lancaster PA #
Friday, April 20 The Warhol at Carnegie Lecture Hall Pittsburgh PA #
Saturday, April 21 The Burl Lexington KY #
April 28-29 The National Homecoming Festival Cincinnati OH
May 25-27 Boston Calling, Harvard Athletic Complex, Cambridge, MA


% w/ Belle & Sebastian
# support from Tancred

Stream or Buy Turn Out The Lights

Julien Baker online:
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

WATCH: Tiny Desk: Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile



Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile have a lot to celebrate this year: Their LP Lotta Sea Lice has been featured on Best-Of lists from Rolling Stone, Consequence of Sound, Paste, Uproxx, Noisey, among others so far, and they've traveled North America together with their all-star group The Sea Lice. Today NPR released Courtney & Kurt's Tiny Desk Concert, which sees the duo leave the band behind in favor of a mirrored acoustic performance. The set features highlights from Lotta Sea Lice "Over Everything," "Continental Breakfast," "Blue Cheese," and "Let It Go." Watch the whole thing here:



Order/Stream ‘LOTTA SEA LICE’

KURT VILE ONLINE :

King Krule - Tiny Desk Concert



A couple weeks after delivering The OOZ to the world, King Krule dropped by the All Songs Considered offices in Washington D.C. to perform a stripped version of some of the new material. Several weeks and about 30 sold-out shows across the U.S. and Europe later, the video premieres today. Watch as Archy and the band manage to transform the sunny NPR office into a dingy South London pub with the tracks, "Midnight 01 (Deep Sea Diver), Lonely Blue, and a combination of "Logos" and "Sublunary."



Purchase The OOZ Here:
http://smarturl.it/theooz

KING KRULE ON TOUR
Wednesday, December 6 Vega, Copenhagen DK *SOLD OUT*
Friday, December 8 Vasateatern, Stockholm SE *SOLD OUT*
Sunday, December 10 Welkweg, Amsterdam NE *SOLD OUT*
Monday, December 11 De Roma, Antwerp BE *SOLD OUT*
Wednesday, December 13 Academy, Dublin IE *SOLD OUT*
Thursday, December 14 Academy 2, Manchester UK *SOLD OUT*
Friday, December 15 SWG3, Glasgow UK *SOLD OUT*

ONLINE
Website
Instagram
Facebook

Sign up for Matador updates