Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Out Today : Perfume Genius - 'Ugly Season'





The new Perfume Genius album, 'Ugly Season', which began as an accompaniment to Mike Hadreas and choreographer Kate Wallach's 2019 "The Sun Still Burns", is out today on LP and available to stream on all digital platforms.

purchase / stream 'Ugly Season'

Ugly Season Tracklist
01. Just a Room
02. Herem
03. Teeth
04. Pop Song
05. Scherzo
06. Ugly Season
07. Eye in the Wall
08. Photograph
09. Hellbent
10. Cenote

Perfume Genius Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Perfume Genius - "Pygmalion's Ugly Season"



This Friday, June 17 Perfume Genius will release his new album, Ugly Season via Matador Records. To coincide with the release of the album, Perfume Genius (Mike Hadreas) teamed with renowned visual artist Jacolby Satterwhite for a 30 minute film featuring Hadreas and the music of Ugly Season. Entitled Pygmalion’s Ugly Season, the film - both stunning and surreal -  is out today and available to view below.



Pre-order/Pre-save Ugly Season

The ten songs that make up Ugly Season began as an accompaniment to Perfume Genius (Mike Hadreas) and choreographer Kate Wallich’s dance piece, The Sun Still Burns Here, which was commissioned by the Seattle Theatre Group and Mass MoCA and performed via residencies in Seattle, Minneapolis, New York City, and Boston throughout 2019. Hadreas developed all new music for the work, which was then refined and expanded upon separately in the studio with long-time partner Alan Wyffels and producer Blake Mills.

These sessions were collaborative in nature. “Some were ‘traditional’ songs that I took into the studio, while other pieces were born out of improvisations between Blake and I. Alan wrote ‘Scherzo’ in its entirety,” says Hadreas. The presence of these external voices  – Wyffels, Mills, and Wallich – gives Ugly Season’s songs a shape and character that is singular in the P.G. oeuvre. Moments of melody and pop-songcraft intermingle with operatic multi-movement compositions steeped in pulsing percussion and alien mood. During the dance piece’s initial run, Hadreas shared two of the project’s compositions - “Pop Song” and “Eye in the Wall.”

With the onset of the pandemic in 2020, it was no longer possible to perform The Sun Still Burns Here in the spirit it was conceived. Hadreas offered the now-completed recordings up to Satterwhite, known for his immersive multidisciplinary technique that fuses live video, 3-D animation.

“I gave him free reign,” says Hadreas. “We're both the same age, I feel very aligned with Jacolby when it comes to taste and certain pop culture obsessions. There is also a spiritual harmony between us in the way we approach work and the similar energetic spaces we want to inhabit, realize and share."

“Mike and I are both writing scripts,” explains Satterwhite. “My visual narrative serendipitously mirrors the lyrical direction in his music; it’s a rare, like-minded bond. It’s a creation myth. How do you architecturally mold and render an idealized version of utopia? It’s about making something that you desire so beyond your scope that it’s hard to grapple into a concrete form.”

Ugly Season bookends a two-year period of intense creativity from Perfume Genius, which includes the full-length Set My Heart of Fire Immediately, that album’s remixed counterpart Immediately, the dance piece, and the subsequent film collaboration with Satterwhite. It is a stand-alone record, but it encompasses the mood, sweep, and moment of these works. It began within a physically and intimate space, but has since taken up residence in digital-unreality. Where it's going is different than where it started.

“PYGMALION’S UGLY SEASON”
A film by Jacolby Satterwhite
featuring Perfume Genius
Label: Matador Records
Management: New Community Management
Director: Jacolby Satterwhite
Edit: Jacolby Satterwhite
Animation: Jacolby Satterwhite
Design: Jacolby Satterwhite
VFX: Jacolby Satterwhite
Executive Producer: Jannie McInnes
Production Company: Scheme Engine
Head of Production: James Rothman
Live Action Producer: Brian Mcelroy
DP: Gary Bardizbanian
Stylist: David Casavant
HMU: Rashad Taylor
Associate Producer: Hudson Payer
Production Coordinator: Charlie Freiberg
1st AC: Mars Alba
Gaffer: Daniele Napolitano
Key Grip: Albi Sala
PA: Samson Jeter
PA: Violyt Martin
Dancers: August Henderson, Boy Radio, Jack Blackmon, Tate Justas, Trevor Hansen
“Pygmalion’s Ugly Season“ features “Herem,” ”Hellbent”, “Ugly Season,” “Photograph,” “Cenote” by Perfume Genius.



Ugly Season Tracklist
01. Just a Room
02. Herem
03. Teeth
04. Pop Song
05. Scherzo
06. Ugly Season
07. Eye in the Wall
08. Photograph
09. Hellbent
10. Cenote

Perfume Genius Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

New From Belle and Sebastian - "A Bit of Previous"





"A Bit Of Previous", directed by Graham Samuels



(photo : Marisa Privitera)

It's not common practice to have an album's title track released after said album as a standalone single, but Belle and Sebastian aren't sticklers for ceremony. Today, the band release new single and video “A Bit of Previous,” which shares the title of their critically acclaimed 9th full-length released in May.

Explained alternately as an allusion to the concept of reincarnation in Buddhism and a passing reference to a past romantic relationship by a band member's father – in either instance, “A Bit of Previous” touches on how the past can give fresh perspective to our present via dark and jangly upbeat pop that is melancholy as it is purposeful and is another piece in the rich tapestry of Belle and Sebastian’s latest era.

The hand drawn video was directed and illustrated by long time band collaborator Graham Samuels and Henrik Appel, following a concept by frontman Stuart Murdoch. “The song touched on the themes of karma and reincarnation,” says Murdoch. “In the clip a woman journeys through her life ‘seeing’ people’s karma. She sees what they are and what they will become. She sees people who are doing well, who are gods in this life. ‘Just because you’ve got the highground / Doesn’t mean you have the most fun’. She imagines them transform into different life forms, even into walking ghosts. Conversely, she sees some who are destitute and alone. She sees them transforming into enlightened people. Finally, she imagines her own future, shrouded in cloud and mystery.”

stream / download the single : "A Bit Of Previous"
stream/purchase the album  'A Bit Of Previous'

Belle and Sebastian on tour :

Wednesday, June 8 The Bridge at Santa Fe Brewing Company, Santa Fe NM+
Friday, June 10 Beer City Music Hal, Oklahoma City OK+
Saturday, June 11 Stubb’s Waller Creek, Austin TX#
Monday, June 13 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN#
Tuesday, June 14 The Ritz, Raleigh NC^
Wednesday, June 15 Wolf Trap, Vienna VA^
Thursday, June 16 Central Park Summerstage, New York NY#
Friday, June 17 Franklin Music Hall, Philadelphia PA#
Saturday, June 18 Roadrunner, Boston MA#
Friday, July 8 Cactus Festival, Bruges BE
Friday, July 15 Lloyds Amphitheatre, Bristol UK
Saturday, July 16 Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival, Stirling UK
Sunday, November 13 Great Hall - Student’s Union, Cardiff UK
Monday, November 14 The Roundhouse, London UK
Tuesday, November 15 The Roundhouse, London UK
Thursday, November 17 O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield UK
Friday, November 18 Olympia, Liverpool UK
Saturday, November 19 Hull University Union Asylum, Hull UK
Monday, November 21 Beach Ballroom, Aberdeen UK
Wednesday, November 23 Usher Hall, Edinburgh UK
Thursday, November 24 O2 City Hall, Newcastle UK
Friday, November 25 Manchester Academy, Manchester UK
Sunday, November 27 Corn Exchange, Cambridge UK
Monday, November 28 O2 Academy, Birmingham UK
Tuesday, November 29 Guildhall Southampton, Southampton UK
Wednesday, November 30 Brighton Dome, Brighton UK
Sunday, January 8 Le Mem, Rennes FR
Tuesday, January 10 Casino de Paris, Paris FR
Wednesday, January 11 Tivoli Grote Zaal, Utrecht NE
Friday, January 13 den Atelier, Luxembourg City LU
Saturday, January 14 Laeiszhalle, Hamburg DE
Monday, January 16 Tradgarn, Gothenburg SE
Tuesday, January 17 Filadelfia, Stockholm SE
Wednesday, January 18 Sentrum Scene, Oslo NO
Thursday, January 19 Vega, Copenhagen DK
Saturday, January 21 Tempodrom, Berlin DE
Sunday, January 22 Muffathalle, Munich DE
Monday, January 23 X-tra Limmathaus, Zurich CH
Wednesday, January 25 Co-op de Mai, Clermont-Ferrand FR
Thursday, January 26 Fabrique, Milan IT

+ with Thee Sacred Souls
# with Los Bitchos
^ with Japanese Breakfast and Los Bitchos

Belle and Sebastian online:

Official site
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Out Today : Horsegirl - 'Versions Of Modern Performance'





(photo by Carlos Lowenstein)

'Versions Of Modern Performance', the debut album from HORSEGIRL is out today on LP, compact disc and available via all streaming platforms. Prior to the start of their first European tour next week, Horsegirl headline an all-ages show at Chicago's Thalia Hall this Sunday (June 5) with support from Friko, Lifeguard and Post Office Winter.

 

(stream/purchase 'Versions Of Modern Performance')

Vinyl / CD Track List

  1. Electrolocation 1
    02. Anti-glory
    03. Beautiful Song
    04. Live and Ski
    05. Bog Bog 2
    06. Dirtbag Transformation (Still Dirty)
    07. The Fall of Horsegirl
    08. Option 8
    09. World of Pots and Pans
    10. The Guitar is Dead 3
    11. Homage to Birdnoculars
    12. Billy


Digital Track List

  1. Anti-glory

  2. Beautiful Song

  3. Live and Ski

  4. Bog Bog 1

  5. Dirtbag Transformation (Still Dirty)

  6. The Fall of Horsegirl

  7. Electrolocation 2

  8. Option 8

  9. World of Pots and Pans

  10. The Guitar Is Dead 3

  11. Homage to Birdnoculars

  12. Billy







    Horsegirl on tour :

    Sun. Jun. 5 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall  (RECORD RELEASE SHOW) ^
    Fri. Jun. 10 - Giessen, DE @ Stadt ohne Meer
    Sun. Jun. 12 - Mannheim, DE @ Maifield Derby
    Thu. Jun. 16 - Antwerp, BE @ Trix Bar
    Fri. Jun. 17 - Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
    Sun. Jun. 19 - London, UK @ Paper Dress Vintage (EARLY SHOW) - SOLD OUT
    Sun. Jun. 19 - London, UK @ Paper Dress Vintage (LATE SHOW) - SOLD OUT
    Tue. Jun. 21 - Manchester, UK @ YES (Basement)
    Wed. Jun. 22 - London, UK @ Bermondsey Social Club - SOLD OUT
    Thu. Jun 23 - London, UK @ The DomeSun. Jun. 26 - Bristol, UK @ Rough Trade Bristol
    Tue. Jun. 28 - Cologne, DE @ Bumann & Sohn
    Wed. Jun. 29 - Berlin, DE @ Monarch
    Fri. Jul. 1 - Denmark, DE @ Roskilde Festival 2022
    Sat. Jul. 2 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Upstairs
    Fri. Jul. 15 - Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall *
    Sat. Jul. 16 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
    Sun. Jul. 17 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall *
    Tue. Jul. 19 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
    Thu. Jul. 21 - Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon *
    Fri. Jul. 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
    Sat. Jul. 23 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *
    Tue. Jul. 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line *
    Wed. Jul. 27 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
    Thu. July 28 - Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club *
    Fri. Jul. 30 - Sat. Jul. 31 - Detroit, MI @ Mo Pop Festival
    Sat. July 31 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza Music Festival
    Tue. Aug. 2 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe *
    Wed. Aug. 3 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop *
    Fri. Aug. 5 - Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground *
    Sat. Aug. 6 - Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus *
    Sun. Aug. 7 - Cambridge, MA     @ The Sinclair *
    Wed. Aug. 10 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
    Sun. Oct. 02 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre &

    ^ w/ Lifeguard, Friko, Post Office Winter
    * w/ Dummy
    & supporting Pavement

     

    Horsegirl Online
    Twitter
    Instagram


 

The Goon Sax - US Headlining Dates Aug/Sep '22



After announcing autumn dates in support of Pavement earlier this week, The Goon Sax have shared four more North American performances planned in August and September '22. The headlining dates coincide with touring in support of Spoon and Interpol's co-headlining Lights, Camera, Factions tour this Summer. A full list of The Goon Sax's upcoming tour dates is below.

Stream / Purchase Mirror II (Digital Deluxe)

The Goon Sax on Tour, New Dates in Bold
Wednesday, August 24 Johnny Brendas, Philadelphia PA
Thursday, August 25  Stone Pony Summer Stage, Asbury Park NJ *
Saturday, August 27 Thompson’s Point, ­Portland ME *
Sunday, August 28 Bold Point Pavilion, Providence RI *
Tuesday, August 30 KEMBA Live! Outdoor, Columbus OH *
Wednesday, August 31 Sleeping Village, Chicago IL
Thursday, September 1 ­­Andrew J. Brady Music Center, Cincinnati OH *
Friday, September 2 The Eastern, Atlanta GA %
Saturday, September 3 Rabbit Rabbit, Asheville NC *
Sunday, September 4 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN #
Tuesday, September 6 ­Stage AE Outdoors, Pittsburgh PA *
Thu, September 8 TCU Amphitheater at White River Park, Indianapolis IN *
Friday, September 9 ­Stifel Theatre, St. Louis MO *
Saturday, September 10 The Criterion, Oklahoma City OK *
Tue, September 13 The Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas, Las Vegas NV *
Wednesday, September 14 Vina Robles Amphitheatre, Paso Robles CA *
Friday, September 16 Paramount Theatre, Seattle WA *
Saturday, September 17 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland OR *
Sunday, September 18 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland OR *
Wednesday, September 21 Rickshaw Stop, San Francisco CA
Thursday, September 22 Zebulon, Los Angeles CA
Tuesday, September 27, Massey Hall, Toronto ON ^
Wed, September 28 Boch Center Wang Theatre, Boston MA (SOLD OUT) ^
Friday, September 30 Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT) ^

* w/ Spoon, Interpol
% w/ Interpol
# w/ Spoon
^ w/ Pavement

The Goon Sax Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
TikTok
official website

Pavement - Fall 2022 Tour Support



Supporting acts for Pavement's Fall 2022 tour have been announced today, including performances from 75 Dollar Bill, Annalibera, Circuit des Yeux, Film School, Guerilla Toss, Horsegirl, Kelley Stoltz, Piranha Rama, Steve Gunn, The Goon Sax, and Weak Signal during their North American run. Remaining tickets for Pavement's upcoming dates are below.

Stream / Purchase Circuit des Yeux's -io

Pre-save / Pre-order Horsegirl's Versions of Modern Performance

Stream / Purchase Steve Gunn's Other You

Stream / Purchase The Goon Sax's Mirror II

Stream / Pre-order Pavement's Westing (By Musket And Sextant)

Stream / Pre-order Pavement's Slanted & Enchanted (3oth Anniversary Colored Vinyl)

Stream / Purchase Pavement's Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal





















Pavement on Tour
Thursday, June 2 Primavera Sound, Barcelona ES
Friday, June 10 NOS Primavera Sound, Porto PT
Wednesday, September 7 Balboa Theatre, San Diego CA (SOLD OUT) !
Thursday, September 8, Orpheum Theatre, Los Angeles CA (SOLD OUT) !
Friday, September 9 Orpheum Theatre, Los Angeles CA (SOLD OUT) !
Saturday, September 10 Orpheum Theatre, Los Angeles CA (SOLD OUT) @
Monday, September 12 The Masonic, San Francisco CA @
Tuesday, September 13 The Masonic, San Francisco CA @
Wednesday, September 14 The Masonic, San Francisco CA #
Friday, September 16 Edgefield Amphitheatre, Troutdale OR #
Saturday, September 17 The Paramount Theatre, Seattle WA (SOLD OUT) #
Monday, September 19 Paramount Theatre, Denver CO $
Tuesday, September 20 Uptown Theater, Kansas City MO $
Wednesday, September 21 The Palace Theatre, St. Paul MN $
Thursday, September 22 Chicago Theatre, Chicago IL (SOLD OUT) %
Friday, September 23, Chicago Theatre, Chicago Theatre IL %
Sat, September 24 Masonic Cathedral Theatre, Detroit MI (SOLD OUT) %
Monday, September 26 Massey Hall, Toronto ON (SOLD OUT) %
Tuesday, September 27, Massey Hall, Toronto ON ^
Wed, September 28 Boch Center Wang Theatre, Boston MA (SOLD OUT) ^
Friday, September 30 Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT) ^
Saturday, October 1 Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT) &
Sunday, October 2 Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT) *
Monday, October 3, Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY =
Wednesday, October 5 The Met, Philadelphia PA (SOLD OUT) >
Thursday, October 6 Warner Theatre, Washington DC (SOLD OUT) >
Saturday, October 8 The Eastern, Atlanta GA (SOLD OUT) +
Sunday, October 9 The Eastern, Atlanta GA (SOLD OUT) +
Monday, October 10, 3Ten At ACL Live, Austin TX (SOLD OUT) +
Tuesday, October 11 ACL Live at the Moody Theater, Austin TX (SOLD OUT)
Monday, October 17th 02 Academy, Leeds UK
Tuesday, October 18th Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow UK (SOLD OUT)
Wednesday October 19th Usher Hall, Edinburgh UK
Thursday, October 20th 02 Apollo, Manchester UK
Saturday, October 22nd Roundhouse, London UK (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, October 23rd Roundhouse, London UK
Monday, October 24th Roundhouse, London UK
Tuesday, October 25th Roundhouse, London UK
Thursday, October 27th Le Grand Rex, Paris FR
Saturday, October 29th Vega, Copenhagen DK
Sunday, October 30th Sentrum Scene, Oslo NO
Monday, October 31st SE Cirkus, Stockholm SE
Wednesday, November 2nd VoxHall, Aarhus DK
Friday, November 4th Pier 2, Bremen DE
Saturday, November 5th Tempodrom, Berlin DE
Monday, November 7th Cirque Royal, Brussels BE
Tuesday, November 8th Royal Carré Theater, Amsterdam NL
Thursday, November 10th Vicar Street, Dublin IE (SOLD OUT)
Friday, November 11th Vicar Street, Dublin IE (SOLD OUT)
Wednesday, February 15 Tokyo Dome City Hall, Tokyo JP
Thursday, February 16 Tokyo Dome City Hall, Tokyo JP
Saturday, February 18 Namba Hatch, Osaka JP

! w/ Film School
@ w/ Kelley Stoltz
# w/ Guerilla Toss
$ w/ Annalibera
% w/ Circuit des Yeux
^ w/ The Goon Sax
& w/ 75 Dollar Bill
* w/ Horsegirl
= w/ Steve Gunn
> w/ Weak Signal
+ w/ Piranha Rama

Pavement Online
Pavement – official site
Pavement at Bandcamp
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Circuit des Yeux Online
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
website

Horsegirl Online
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Steve Gunn Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Steve Gunn.com

The Goon Sax Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
TikTok
official website

Sign up for Matador updates