Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

VIDEO: Snail Mail - Pitchfork Festival 2019



Two clips from Snail Mail's recent performance at Pitchfork Music Festival have been posted on the publication's YouTube channel, "Pristine" and "Speaking Terms," both from the 2018 breakout Lush.





In case you missed it, Snail Mail's debut EP Habit will be remastered and reissued with an additional track, the Lois Maffeo-penned "The 2nd Most Beautiful Girl In The World." The EP is available for PRE-ORDER now, and available online and at your local record store on August 30th.

Snail Mail continues her endless world tour in the western half of the U.S. this week. Tickets for all dates listed below are available now.

Snail Mail On Tour
Thursday, August 15 Twilight Concert Series, Salt Lake City UT
Friday, August 16 MAHA Music Festival, Omaha NE
Saturday, August 17 Bluebird Theater, Denver CO
Sunday, August 18 Taos Vortex, Taos NM
Tuesday, August 20 Rebel Lounge, Phoenix AZ
Wednesday, August 21 Music Box, San Diego CA
Thursday, August 22 The Wiltern Theater, Los Angeles CA
Saturday, August 24 THING, Port Townsend WA
Thursday, September 5 Hopscotch Music Festival, Raleigh NC
Sunday, October 6 Red Rocks Amphitheater, Morrison CO
November 16-17 Corona Capital Music Festival, Mexico City MX

Snail Mail Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website

OUT NOW: Jay Reatard "Hang Them All" / Sonic Youth "No Garage" Split Color 7" + "Watch Me Fall" 10 Year Anniversary



Split singles are usually the byproduct of shotgun marriages and/or sleazy cash grabs by labels eager to exploit even most the  tenuous connections between two entirely unrelated artists. BUT ENOUGH ABOUT OUR JICKS/LA GUNS single!
For entirely different reasons we're not getting more records from the late Jay Reatard or the splitsvile-population-them Sonic Youth and it would be the height of exaggeration to claim this 2009 curio is a highlight of either's vast discography. But that's what Matador Revisionist History is all about, exaggerating heights!  Primo Carnera might've been 6' 5 1/2 inches tall in reality, but look the fuck out for 7-foot tall Primo Canera appeals to the PT Barnum, PT Cruiser and PT Anderson in us in equal measures.
Also, maybe you slept on a chance to buy it the first time.
Purchase Split Color 7"/Stream "Hang Them All" / "No Garage"

(All profits from this release will be donated to St. Jude Children's Research Hospital)



Coinciding with the reissue of the 7", to commemorate the 10 year anniversary of Jay Reatard's Watch Me Fall, take 25% off the LP on the Matador webstore worldwide through August 8th. All orders of the album will receive a Matador Revisionist History slip mat while supplies last.

Stream/Purchase 25% off Watch Me Fall



Jay Reatard - Website

Sonic Youth - Website

Steve Gunn - Tokyo & New Zealand Dates This November





Steve Gunn returns to New Zealand for 6 solo shows this November preceded by his Japanese debut at Tokyo's  Shibuya 7th Floor on November 3rd. Ticket links can be found below.

Stream / download "Be Still Moon" and "Shrunken Heads"
STREAM/BUY The Unseen In Between
Stream "Motion Pictures" (Amazon Originals)

Steve Gunn on tour (new dates in bold)

Thursday, August 1st WTMD First Thursday, Baltimore, MD
Friday, August 2 Johnny Brenda’s Philadelphia PA +
Saturday, August 3 The Bell House Outpost at Industry City, Brooklyn NY ^
Saturday, August 17th Sole East Resort, Montauk, NY
Saturday, August 24 Merleyn, Nijmegen NL
Sunday, August 25 Cabaret Vert Festival, Charleville Mezieres FR
Monday, August 26 Patterns, Brighton UK
Tuesday, August 27 Bodega, Nottingham UK
Wednesday, August 28 Stereo, Glasgow UK
Thursday, August 29 Exchange, Bristol UK
Friday, August 30 End of the Road, Dorset UK
Saturday, August 31 OLT, Antwerp BE *
Sunday, September 1 Sidecar, Barcelona ES
Monday, September 2 Kafe Antzokia, Bilbao ES
Tuesday, September 3 Sala 0, Madrid ES
Wednesday, September 4 ZDB, Lisbon PT
Friday, September 6 Zonnehuis, Amsterdam NL
Saturday, September 7 Misty Fields, Asten-Heusden NL
Sunday, September 8 Brotfabrik, Frankfurt DE
Monday, September 9 Bumann & Sohn, Köln DE
Tuesday, September 10 Lido, Berlin DE
Wednesday, September 11 Trafo, DE
Thursday, September 12 Druckluft, Oberhausen DE
Friday, September 13 Helling, Utrecht NL
Saturday, September 14 Leffingeleuren, Leffing BE
Monday, September 16 Lost Lane, Dublin IE %
Tuesday, September 17 Omeara, London UK %
Thursday, September 19 Kuudes Linja, Helsinki FI %
Monday, September 23 Salon, Istanbul TR %
Friday, October 18 Lambert’s, Austin TX %
Sunday, October 20 Duet Jazz (The Bob Dylan Center Presents: An Evening with Steve Gunn, Tulsa OK
Wednesday, October 23 Showbox Theater, Seattle WA @%
Thursday, October 24 Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver BC @%
Friday, October 25 Wild Buffalo, Bellingham WA @%
Saturday, October 26 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR @%
Monday, October 28 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Tuesday, October 29 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Wednesday, October 30 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Sunday, November 3 Shibuya 7th Floor Tokyo JP %
Wednesday, November 6 Tuning Fork, Auckland NZ %
Thursday, November 7 Blue Smoke, Christchurch NZ %
Friday, November 8 Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin NZ %
Saturday, November 9 The Plant, Blenheim NZ %
Sunday, November 10 Moon, Wellington NZ %
Wednesday, November 13 Sitting Room Session, Hawkes Bay NZ %

+ w/ Nace-Truscinski Duo
^ w/ Hand Habits
* w/ John Prine
% indicates solo performance
@ w/ Dinosaur Jr.

Steve Gunn online :
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Steve Gunn.com

Sign up for Matador updates