Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Kurt Vile - Tiny Desk Concert

 

[caption id="attachment_34002" align="alignnone" width="537"] (Cameron Pollack/NPR).[/caption]

Early today, NPR released Kurt Vile's new Tiny Desk Concert, containing performances of two Bottle It In tracks "Bassackwards" and "Loading Zones," as well as "Peeping Tomboy," from Smoke Ring for My Halo and  covered by Courtney Barnett on their 2017 collaborative album Lotta Sea Lice.



Kurt Vile's 2019 dates kick off on Monday, February 11 in Harrisburg PA before performing on Late Night with Seth Meyers on February 12th.

Kurt Vile & The Violators On Tour

Monday, February 11 Club XL, Harrisburg PA
Thursday, February 14 Higher Ground, Burlington VT +
Friday, February 15 Mtelus, Montreal QC +
Saturday, February 16 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto ON + (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, February 17 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto ON
Tuesday, February 19 Majestic Theatre, Detroit MI +
Wednesday, February 20 Taft Theatre, Cincinnati OH +
Thursday, February 21 The Vogue, Indianapolis IN +
Friday, February 22 Headliners Music Hall, Louisville NY +
Saturday, February 23 Castle Theatre, Bloomington IL +
Sunday, February 24 The Pageant, St. Louis MO +
Tuesday, February 26 The Slowdown, Omaha NE +
Wednesday, February 27 Truman, Kansas City MO +
Thursday, February 28 Ogden Theatre, Denver CO +
Friday, March 1 The Depot, Salt Lake City, UT +
Saturday, March 2 M3F Fest, Phoenix AZ
Sunday, March 3 House of Blues, Las Vegas NV +
Tuesday, March 5 Rialto Theatre, Tucson AZ +
Wednesday, March 6 Meow Wolf, Sante Fe NM +
Friday, March 8 Gruene Hall, New Braunfels TX +
Saturday, March 9 White Oak Music Hall, Houston TX +
Sunday, March 10 Civic Theatre, New Orleans LA +
Tuesday, March 12 The Beacham, Orlando FL +
Wednesday, March 13 Revolution Live, Ft. Lauderdale FL +
Friday, March 15 Saturn, Birmingham AL +
Saturday, March 16 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN +
Sunday, March 17 The National, Richmond VA +
Thursday, April 11 Hunter Lounge, Wellington NZ
Saturday, April 13 Powerstation, Auckland NZ
Monday, April 15 Enmore, Sydney AU &
Tuesday, April 16 Unibar, Wollongong AU &
Wednesday, April 17 ANU, Canberra AU &
Thursday, April 18 Bryon Bay Bluesfest, Byron Bay AU
Saturday, April 20 Bryon Bay Bluesfest, Byron Bay AU
Monday, April 22 The Forum, Melbourne AU &
Friday, April 26 Bendigo Autumn Music Festival, Bendigo AU
Saturday, April 27 The Gov, Adelaide AU &
Sunday, April 28 Rosemount Carpark, Perth AU &
Sunday, May 26 All Points East, London UK
Monday, May 27 Aeronef, Lille FR
Tuesday, May 28 Atelier, Luxembourg LU
Thursday, May 30 This Is Not A Love Song, Nimes FR
Friday, May 31 Primavera Sound, Barcelona ES
Sunday, June 2 Best Kept Secret, Hivarenbeek, NE
Monday, June 3 Manufaktur, Schorndorf DE
Tuesday, June 4 Astra, Berlin DE
Thursday, June 6 Sideways Festival, Helsinki FI
Monday, June 10 Mejeriet, Lund SE
Tuesday, June 11 Pustervik, Gothenburg SE
Thursday, June 13 Pipfest, Oslo NO
Friday, June 14 Mablis, Stavanger NO
Saturday, June 15 Bergenhus Festning, Bergen NO
Wednesday, June 19 Klub Proxima, Warsaw PL
Thursday, June 20 Meetfactory, Prague CZ
Friday, June 21 Kolorado Festival, Budapest, HU
Monday, June 24 Inmusic Festival, Zagreb HR
Tuesday, June 25 Magnolia, Milan IT
Wednesday, June 26 Les Docks, Lausanne CH
Friday, June 28 Rock Werchter, Werchter BE

+ w/ The Sadies
& w/ RVG

Kurt Vile Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

LUCY DACUS' TINY DESK CONCERT, TELEVISION DEBUT TOMORROW ON CBS' THIS MORNING



Do not underestimate the power of the a Tiny Desk. This morning the latest concert from NPR Music's series premiered and it has Lucy Dacus in the spotlight. Below you can hear "I Don't Wanna Be Funny Anymore", "Direct Address" and "Green Eyes, Red Face" all which happen to be from her debut album No Burden. The album will see a physical release from us on September 9th, but you can download/stream it in full now: http://smarturl.it/NoBurden (Pre-orders for the Matador store come with a signed poster while supplies last)

FYI: Lucy and her band will be making their network television debut tomorrow morning (7am-9am eastern, 6-8am central, 7-9am pacific time) during CBS This Morning's Saturday Sessions. Watch this space for clips of the performance.

TOUR DATES
August 4-August 6- Doe Bay Resort and Retreat, Olga, WA
Sunday, August 7 – Tractor Tavern, Seattle, WA
Monday, August 8 – Mississippi Studios – Portland, OR ^
Wednesday, August 10 – Rickshaw Stop, San Francisco, CA
Thursday, August 11 – The Echo, Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, August 13 – The Casbah, San Diego, CA
Sunday, August 14- Valley Bar, Phoenix, AZ
Tuesday, August 16 – Stubb’s Bar-B-Q, Austin, TX
Wednesday, August 17- Three Links, Dallas, TX
Friday, August 19 – The Basement, Nashville, TN
Saturday, August 20 – The Masquerade – Purgatory, Atlanta, GA
Saturday, September 3 – End of the Road Festival, Salisbury, UK
Tuesday, September 6 – The Old Blue Last, London, UK
September 15 - Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY$ SOLD OUT
Stember 16 - Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY$
Tuesday, September 13 – Ram’s Head Live – Baltimore, MD% SOLD OUT
Saturday, September 17 – The Sinclair – Boston, MA$ SOLD OUT
Sunday, September 18 – Bar le Ritz PDB, Montreal, QC$
Monday, September 19- Virgin Mobile Mod Club,Toronto, ON$
Wednesday, September 21 – El Club, Detroit, MI$
Thursday, September 22 – The Pygmalion Festival, Urbana, IL
Saturday, September 24 – MidPoint Music Festival, Cincinnati, OH
Sunday, September 25 – Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland, OH$
Tuesday, September 27 – Majestic Theatre, Madison, WI$
Saturday, October 1 – Austin City Limits Festival, Austin, TX
Friday, October 7 - The National, Richmond, VA

^ w/ Julien Baker
% w/ Frightened Rabbit
$ w/ Car Seat Headrest

Website - http://lucydacus.com/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/lucy.dacus/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/lucydacus
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/lucydacus/

VIDEO: Car Seat Headrest's Tiny Desk Concert for NPR


In the latest Tiny Desk Concert, Will Toledo aka Car Seat Headrest had a little help from his friends as well as one of the tiniest drum sets that I've ever seen. Set list includes: "The Drum", "Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales" and "Sober To Death". You might notice that one of those songs is new... You also might not notice. Maybe you can't take a hint.

UK/EUROPE TOUR DATES:

Thursday February 18: ACUD, Berlin (D) TICKETS
Friday February 19: Ideal Bar, Copenhagen (DK) TICKETS
Saturday February 20: Aalhaus, Hamburg (D) TICKETS
Sunday February 21: Botanique, Brussels (B) TICKETS
Tuesday February 23: Dalston Victoria, London (UK) TICKETS
Wednesday February 24: La Mécanique Ondulatoire, Paris (F) TICKETS
Thursday February 25: La Route du Rock Winter, Rennes (F) TICKETS
Friday February 26: Festival Generig @ Zone Art, Besançon (F) TICKETS
Saturday February 27: La Malterie, Lille (F) TICKETS
Sunday February 28: Paradiso, Amsterdam (NL) 7pm show* TICKETS

BUY Teens Of Style:
iTunes
Matador
Bandcamp
Amazon
Google Play

SOCIALS:
Tumblr
Facebook
Twitter
Bandcamp/
Instagram

Sign up for Matador updates