Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Horsegirl - "Do You Want Horsegirl or Do You Want The Truth?"



Today, Horsegirl present "Do You Want Horsegirl or Do You Want the Truth?", a visual zine commemorating their Thalia Hall performance alongside other Chicago bands Lifeguard, Friko, and Post Office Winter. Artwork in-step with Horsegirl’s aesthetic is woven with live footage of all four bands. This is a testament to the youth scene in the city, and the powerful bonds amongst Horsegirl and their friends. As Rolling Stone neatly summarizes it, their “album release show feels like a celebration of the Chicago scene they’ve come up in over the past several years.”

stream / purchase 'Versions Of Modern Performance'

Wed. Aug. 10 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *^
Sun. Oct. 02 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre &
Monday, October 17 Spirit Hall, Pittsburgh PA % *SOLD OUT*
Tuesday, October 18 Phoenix Concert Theater, Toronto ON %

* w/ Dummy
^ w/ Lifeguard
% w/ Black Midi
& supporting Pavement

Horsegirl Online
Twitter
Instagram

Out Today : Yo La Tengo - 'I Can Hear The Heart Beating As You' - 25th Anniversary Edition



photo : Rafael Fuchs




stream / purchase 'I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One' 25th Anniversary Edition

The 25th anniversary edition of Yo La Tengo's landmark 'I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One' is available today in the USA on double vinyl and via all streaming services.  The deluxe vinyl edition will be in shops worldwide on August 12.

I Can Hear The Heart Beating as One 25th Anniversary Deluxe Tracklist

  1. Return to Hot Chicken

  2. Moby Octopad

  3. Sugarcube

  4. Damage

  5. Deeper into Movies

  6. Shadows

  7. Stockholm Syndrome

  8. Autumn Sweater

  9. Little Honda

  10. Green Arrow

  11. One PM Again

  12. The Lie and How We Told It

  13. Center of Gravity

  14. Spec Bebop

  15. We're an American Band

  16. My Little Corner of the World

  17. Autumn Sweater (Peel Session 1997)

  18. Shadows (Peel Session 1997)

  19. I Heard You Looking (Peel Session 1997)

  20. Autumn Sweater (Bundy K. Brown, John Herndon, Douglas McCombs and David Pajo Remix)

  21. Autumn Sweater (U-Ziq Remix)

  22. Autumn Sweater (Kevin Shields Remix)Yo La Tengo on Tour
    Yo La Tengo on tour :

    September 2-4, Nelsonville Festival, Nelsonville OH
    Saturday, September 24 Frantic City, Atlantic City NJ %

    * w/ Sylvan Esso, Indigo De Souza
    ^ w/ Japanese Breakfast, Cate Le Bon
    % w/ Snail Mail, Car Seat Headrest, more


Horsegirl - Behind The Songs, Pt. VI



"Homage To Birdnoculars"



"Bllly"

Well, the day we hoped would never come has arrived. We've reached the conclusion of Horsegirl's "Behind The Songs" series in which they discuss the 12 songs on the trio's 'Versions Of Modern Performance'.  We could keep doing these, however it will either require delving into the album's Japan CD bonus tracks or making Gigi, Nora and Penelope write an entirely new album.  The former feels a little gratuitous, the latter entirely within the realm of our working relationship however IT'S WAY TOO EARLY.  You're pretty unreasonable.

stream / purchase 'Versions Of Modern Performance'

Horsegirl on tour :

Fri. Jul. 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
Sat. Jul. 23 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *
Tue. Jul. 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line *
Wed. Jul. 27 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
Thu. July 28 - Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club *
Fri. Jul. 30 - Sat. Jul. 31 - Detroit, MI @ Mo Pop Festival
Sat. July 31 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza Music Festival
Tue. Aug. 2 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe *
Wed. Aug. 3 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop *
Fri. Aug. 5 - Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground *
Sat. Aug. 6 - Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus *
Sun. Aug. 7 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Aug. 10 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *^
Sun. Oct. 02 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre &

* w/ Dummy
^ w/ Lifeguard
& supporting Pavement

Horsegirl Online
Twitter
Instagram

Out Today : Julien Baker - 'B-Sides' EP





(photo : Alyssa Gafkjen)

Today Julien Baker has released a new EP 'B-Sides'. Intimate and emotional, the 3 never-before-heard songs were taken from the recording sessions for her critically heralded third full-length 'Little Oblivions'. The EP was preceded by the song "Guthrie", which Clash called “extraordinarily beautiful”, while The New York Times described it as " a quietly harrowing postscript to 'Little Oblivions'”.

stream / download 'B-Sides'

B-Sides Track List

  1. Guthrie

  2. Vanishing Point

  3. Mental Math


Tonight, Baker kicks off The Wild Hearts Tour, an epic run of co-headlining North American dates alongside Sharon Van Etten and Angel Olsen. The tour sees these three legendary songwriters playing across North America the rest of this month through to August 26. The tour includes multiple night stands at Los Angeles’ Greek Theatre and New York City’s Central Park Summerstage. It consists of mostly outdoor venues, with the exception of the legendary Ryman Auditorium in Nashville and Massey Hall in Toronto. Each artist will play with their own respective band. Tickets are on sale now, and special guest Quinn Christopherson will support on most dates. Additionally, The Wild Hearts Tour has partnered with PLUS1 so that $1 from every ticket will go to support people rebuilding their lives after incarceration. All dates are listed below

Julien Baker on 'The Wild Hearts' tour with Sharon Van Etten and Angel Olsen :

Thu. Jul. 21 - Vienna, VA @ Wolf Trap Center For the Performing Arts *
Fri. Jul. 22 - Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *
Sat. Jul. 23 - Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Mon. Jul. 25 - Austin, TX @ Moody Amphitheater *
Thurs. July 28 - Greek Theatre - Los Angeles, CA*
Fri. Jul. 29 - Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *
Sat. Jul 30 - Berkeley, Ca @ Greek Theatre *
Tu. Aug. 2 - Troutdale, OR @ McMenamins Edgefield Amphitheater *
Wed. Aug. 3 - Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater *
Fri. Aug. 5 - Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Garden *
Sat. Aug. 6 - Salt Lake City, UT @ TBA *
Sun. Aug. 7 - Denver, CO @ Sculpture Park *
Tue. Aug. 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ Surly Brewing Festival Field *
Wed. Aug 10 - Chicago, IL @ TBA *
Thu. Aug. 11 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell’s Eccentric Cafe *
Fri. Aug. 12 - Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Mon. Aug. 15 - Shelburne, VT @ The Greet at Shelburne Museum *
Tue. Aug. 16 - LaFayette, NY @ Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *
Thu. Aug. 18 - Boston, MA @ Leader Bank Pavilion *
Fri. Aug. 19 - Philadelphia, PA @ Skyline Stage at The Mann *
Mon. Aug. 20 - New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *
Sun. Aug. 21 - New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

* - with Quinn Christopherson

Julien Baker Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Lucy Dacus - "Partner in Crime" / "Believe" (Cher) - Spotify Singles





(photo: Ebru Yildiz)

Stream "Partner in Crime" / "Believe" (Cher)

Stream / Purchase Home Video

Today, fresh off her performance at Pitchfork Music Festival, Lucy Dacus unveils her contribution to the Spotify Singles series: a reworked studio rendition of Home Video standout, “Partner in Crime,” and a cover of Cher’s “Believe,” a “huge, expansive, beautiful, heart-pumping, excitement-inducing song,” says Dacus, and “iconic for its use of auto-tune.” Despite this distinct use of auto-tune in both “Believe” and the original “Partner in Crime,” Dacus’ new versions remove the auto-tune and scale back the production, bringing each songwriter’s prowess to the forefront. “I feel like some of my favorite lyrics that I’ve written are in ‘Partner in Crime’ and maybe they aren’t as noticeable because the effect takes you out of it a little bit,” Dacus says. “So, I just wanted to strip it bare and showcase the song for what it is without any tricky production moves.”

“‘Partner in Crime’ was partially inspired by ‘Believe,’ so I thought it’d be nice to pair them together. I love Cher’s voice and how low it gets. The timbre of her voice is so unique, you can recognize it anywhere. Even with the autotune, you can tell that it’s Cher and nobody else. But, on our cover, taking away the autotune, I feel like you can tell that the structure of the song is very special and I did feel myself accidentally wanting to become Cher when I was doing vocal takes. It could never happen, but I love a low voiced pop legend.”



Lucy Dacus On Tour (New Dates in Bold)
Wednesday, July 20 Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown NY ~
Thursday, July 21 Central Park Summerstage, New York NY #
Wednesday, July 27 Brown’s Island, Richmond VA $
Thursday, July 28 Skyline Stage at The Mann, Philadelphia PA $
Sunday, July 31 Osheaga Festival, Montreal QC
Thursday, August 4 Ogden Twilight Series, Ogden UT
Sunday, August 7 Hinterland Festival, St. Charles IA
Monday, August 8 Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland, Kansas City MO !
Tuesday, August 9 The Factory, St. Louis MO
Wednesday, August 10 Agora Theatre and Ballroom, Cleveland OH
Friday, August 12 XL Live, Harrisburg PA
Saturday, August 13 Mass MoCA, North Adams MA
Thursday, August 25 Leith Theatre, Edinburgh UK
Friday, August 26 All Points East Festival, London UK
August 27 – 28, Golden Leaves Festival, Darmstadt DE
Thursday, September 1 End of the Road Festival, Salisbury UK
September 8 – 10 Andalucia Big Festival, Malaga ES
Monday, September 12 Red Rocks Amphitheater, Morrison CO ~
Friday, September 30 College Street Music Hall, New Haven CT +
Saturday, October 1 All Things Go Festival, Columbia MD
Monday, October 3 Lincoln Theater, Raleigh NC +
Wednesday, October 5 Neighborhood Theater, Charlotte NC +
Friday, October 7 Beacham Theater, Orlando FL +
Saturday, October 8 North Beach Band Shell, Miami Beach FL +
Monday, October 10 Club Downunder, Tallahassee FL +
Wednesday, October 12 The Civic Theater, New Orleans LA +
Thursday, October 13 Saturn, Birmingham AL +
Friday, November 4 Union Hall, Edmonton AB *
Saturday, November 5 Palace Theater, Calgary AB *
Tuesday, November 8 Vogue Theater, Vancouver BC *
Wednesday, November 9 Moore Theater, Seattle WA *
Friday, November 11 Roseland Theater, Portland OR *
Saturday, November 12 Egyptian Theater, Boise ID *
Sunday, November 13 McDonald Theater, Eugene OR *
Tuesday, November 15 Little Saint, Healdsburg CA *
Thursday, November 17 Fox Theater, Oakland CA *
Friday, November 18 The Wiltern, Los Angeles CA *
Saturday, November 19 The Observatory North Park, San Diego CA *

~ w/ The National
# w/ Hop Along
$ w/ Courtney Barnett and Samia
! w/ Courtney Barnett and Quinn Christopherson
+ w/ Crooks & Nannies
* w/ Haley Heynderickx

Lucy Dacus Online
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Horsegirl - "World Of Pots & Pans", "The Guitar Is Dead 3" (Behind The Songs Pt. V)






If for no other reasons than Horsegirl's 'Versions Of Modern Performance' featuring no more than 12 songs, our Behind The Songs feature in which Gigi, Nora and Penelope unpacking the stories and inspirations behind the album's compositions, will eventually come to a conclusion. Perhaps an unceremonious one.

stream / purchase 'Versions Of Modern Performance'

Horsegirl on tour :

Tue. Jul. 19 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Thu. Jul. 21 - Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon *
Fri. Jul. 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
Sat. Jul. 23 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *
Tue. Jul. 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line *
Wed. Jul. 27 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
Thu. July 28 - Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club *
Fri. Jul. 30 - Sat. Jul. 31 - Detroit, MI @ Mo Pop Festival
Sat. July 31 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza Music Festival
Tue. Aug. 2 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe *
Wed. Aug. 3 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop *
Fri. Aug. 5 - Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground *
Sat. Aug. 6 - Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus *
Sun. Aug. 7 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Aug. 10 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *^
Sun. Oct. 02 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre &

* w/ Dummy
^ w/ Lifeguard
& supporting Pavement

 

Horsegirl Online
Twitter
Instagram

Sign up for Matador updates